Breaking Through

Hello! This week has been amazing so far. Really and truly wonderful. Yesterday and today my YRG and I finished painting the exterior of a sweet old lady’s house. Her name was Willie Mae and her brother Frank lived with her. When we first got there we were a little confused on our job and what exactly we were painting so we went inside to ask her. Little did we know that Willie Mae was about to share copious amounts of insight and hope. See…we got there at 9:30 and actually didn’t start the physical work until 11. Let’s just say Willie Mae loves to talk. This was the point at which I realized that this project was more about fulfilling the social, emotional, and spiritual needs of an old lady with an ocean of faith. Throughout the two days Jane and I spent about 5 hours talking to Frank and Willie Mae and keeping them company inside the house. During these precious hours I was touched. These two elderly people had more hope than I’d ever seen. They both had health problem be it heart attacks, diabetes, or arthritis yet they still believed that Christ was walking there with them and had a plan for them up until their last breath. One of Willie Mae’s most emphasized words of wisdom was that if God is our Father then we are all brothers and sisters and need to treat each other that way. This was why she was so glad that all of us from Mtn TOP were working together so well, even though we’d never met before Sunday.

Another thing that I love about Mountain TOP is the worship. Monday night we talked about “suffering hope”. This message really struck a chord in my heart. I had a real breakthrough and it really opened my eyes. I could spend forever telling you about my wake-up call but instead I’d like to share a piece of scripture that I found.

It’s Psalm 37:23-24:

If the Lord delights in a man’s way,

He makes his steps firm;

Though he stumble, he will not fall,

For the Lord upholds him with his hand.

Katherine Deal.

Leave a comment