Hope

This past week, the radiating theme has been hope. In every experience I’ve had on this mountain, whether I’ve shared it with a Grundy County native, a staff member, a friend, my YRG, or God, I’ve seen so much hope. Tonight especially nourished the hope that has been growing inside of me all week. The Friday night worship has traditionally been a time of reflection and revelation; as a group we share communion and trade stories of hope and finding Christ shining through our experiences with others. As this is my third year coming to Mountain TOP, I have always struggled with taking what I learned during an amazingly close week with God and carrying it down the mountain, applying it to daily life. Consequently, I’ve vowed to make this year different. As I sat in worship, I really pondered how I would be able to make this change in myself. The people in my YRG showed me such positivity, and put on smiles even as we struggled through a miserably hot day, or a shortage of wood to build a railing with. In worship I thought of how moved I was by their positivity, and how it was always able to improve my attitude as well. The joy surrounding me was absolutely contagious. I realized that I wanted to be someone bringing positivity and joy to people, sharing hope in God so deeply rooted that it could never be disrupted. These people that I have been able to share such great relationships with have helped me find the beauty of God in everything around me, and I know I can be the same source of joy and assistance in walking with Christ through life. I want to share my faith with others, and after this week I can tell them how truly great my God is.

I am so thankful for the experience I was able to have this week—a very different but still phenomenal Mountain TOP!

Mary Kate

Leave a comment